Vortexes and Earth Devas

I first became enamored with vortexes when I was a child and would assist my father in dowsing for underground water.  On our expeditions, I would stray from honing in on the veins of underground water as I was constantly being pulled towards what I perceived to be power spots instead.  That is when I was told earth spirits resided in these areas and it was not appropriate to disturb the place as it was their home and was sacred.  With childlike reverence I would leave offerings of flowers, twigs and rocks before I sat or played on these power spots as they brought me comfort and joy.  I could feel the downward spirals into the very heart of the earth itself, which would make me feel connected to something larger and very content.

Fast forward to years later when as a young initiate and I was circling with my sisters during one particular Spring Equinox.  As I was feeling the universal ecstasy, I looked up in breathless awe at the vortex which significantly showed itself in the pattern of the spiraling clouds directly above us.

Those two memories stayed with me over the years as I had remembered the feel of the two very different types of energies and yearned to learn more about them.  Therefore when the opportunity presented itself I completed a workshop on Divining the Deva Spirit.  This workshop in turn unlocked my infatuation to learn and work with Vortexes and Earth Devas which I took on as a personal quest.

What is a Vortex?

Vortexes manifest as alternating polarities in rings until you reach the eye of the vortex in the centre which consists of neutral energy.  Vortexes consisting of 7 or 8 rings are quite powerful and are ideal to use for meditation.  The rings in vortexes can spiral upwards or downwards.  If the vortex spirals upwards its perfect for magickal workings, whilst vortexes which spiral downwards are perfect for power towers (towers set up to channel the energy downwards into the earth to assist in the growth of plants and trees).

How to find a Vortex?

The most simple way to find a vortex is using a dowsing tool such as dowsing rods, pendulums, your hands and fingers if you are naturally inclined as well as clairvoyant abilities.  I would recommend any guided writings from Tom Graves if you are unsure about dowsing.

What is an Earth Deva?

An Earth Deva is a nature spirit which lives on a different plane of existence.  Earth Deva’s (nature spirits) tend to dwell in some vortexes.  They don’t like being walked upon as they deserve respect; therefore please ensure you get permission to work within a vortex if you feel/see a Deva within.

How to find an Earth Deva?

Like dowsing to find a vortex you can similarly dowse to find an Earth Deva.  You can also use meditation or guided visualization.  Utilizing crystals also work such as smokey quartz or a phantom crystal which allows you to open up your mind’s eye and perceive the Earth Deva in their own plane of existence, making them much easier to perceive in the physical world.

Why connect to a Vortex or Earth Deva?

In this modern day more and more people are disconnecting from the earth energies.  Considering we can find all that we need in nature to be cantered and healthy a re-connection to these earth energies could open up the endless potential of healing and balance.  Start by connecting to the Vortexes and Earth Devas in your own garden and unlock the limitless potential that these natural energies can bring into your life.

(C) T. Georgitsis, 2011 (this article first appeared in Goddess Guru 2012, Issue 6)

Image

Leave a Reply

