Summer Solstice Celebration – Silver Birch Grove (ADF)

Last month I attended the Australian ADF’s local Summer Solstice celebration run by the Silver Birch Grove (https://www.adf.org/core/index.html).   It was my second druidic ritual run by Shazbeth and her grove and I was yet again impressed and inspired.

1468797_10152545809439762_1962092445_n

The connections I make during the rites have refreshed my love of the land, earth magick and the attendees are warm and genuinely nice people.  Whilst I appreciate and respect this path which isn’t my own, it’s nevertheless filled with a majestic reverence which manifests as beautiful magick – externally and internally.   It’s also wonderful to attend a free public ritual (where I am not hosting it) where the facilitators are extremely organised, timely, informative, caring and show a genuine love, duty of care and devotion to the tradition and attendees.

1382127_10152545809839762_1584929048_n

The day was a muggy yet wet one.  We gathered in the cleared circle beneath the natural canopy of native trees which protected us from the rain.  All fell silent and the rain ceased as Shaz commenced the ritual.  Shaz had written it and once more I was inspired by the exquisite use of words and gestures of it along with the other main Druids participation and enactments (Ang and Callum).  I felt the pulsing magick come up through the earth as well as flow down upon me from the sky as the rite progressed.  Once more I could sense my ancestors watching a short distance away as well as Hekate just outside the boundary in the NW.

945815_10152545810074762_1063302038_n

The rite itself consisted of praise to the Kindreds, Ancestors, Spirits of Place and of course Deity (Manannan mac Lir, Brighid, Dagda).  The ritual included establishing and closing the sacred grove, offerings upon the altar, fire/hearth and earth, songs sung, hymns recited, the gates between the worlds opened and closed, meditations and divinations completed and the partaking of libations.

I had made a soy lavender candle I had brought as an offering and Shaz placed it in the centre of the alar and it was lit during the ritual.  I absolutely adored that during the rite the poem “My Country” by Dorothy Mackellar was read out and this resonated with me very strongly.  I feel it was a great tribute to Australia and the land we live in during the ritual as its often forgotten about when most of our paths are of a northern origin. Also something I noted which I found amusing was as soon as ritual had ended it started to rain, yet it had stayed away whilst the rest of the time.  That just emphasizes once again how magickal working with spirit outdoors with the land is and how magick does work.

1503957_10152545809354762_225346425_n

The way the ritual is run, is that we have feasting afterwards.  This time we brought some ham and bread rolls with several dips and some choc biscuits.  Everyone shares and it’s so lovely to be able to sit and have a picnic underneath the shade of wattle and gum trees, whilst listening to the rustle of the stream and native wildlife surrounding you.

Thank you Silver Birch Grove!

 

2 comments on “Summer Solstice Celebration – Silver Birch Grove (ADF)

Leave a Reply

