42 Negative Confessions (The Book of Going Forth By Day)

blue-ostrich-feather-6326111

42 Negative Confessions

  1. Oh Wide-strider who come forth from Heliopolis, I have not done wrong.
  2. Fire-embracer who come forth from Kheraha, I have not robbed.
  3. Nosey who came forth from Hermopolis, I have not stolen.
  4. Swallower of Shades who came forth from Kernet, I have not slain people.
  5. Terrible of Face who came forth from Rosetjau, I have not destroyed the food offerings.
  6. Double Lion who came forth from the sky, I have not reduced measures.
  7. He-whose-Eyes-are-in-Flames who comes forth from Asyut, I have not stolen the god’s property.
  8. Burning One who came forth backwards, I have not told lies.
  9. Breaker of Bones who came forth from Memphis, I was not sullen.
  10. He-of-the-Cavern who came forth from the West, I have not fornicated with the fornicator.
  11. He-whose-Face-is-behind-him who came forth from his hole, I have not caused (anyone) to weep.
  12. Anointed One who came forth from the chapel, I have not dissembled.
  13. Hot-Legs who came forth at twilight, I have not transgressed.
  14. He-who-is-Blood who came forth from the place of slaughter, I have not done grain-profiteering.
  15. Eater of Entrails who came forth from the Council of Thirty, I have not robbed a parcel of land.
  16. Lord of Truth who came forth from Hall of Two Truths, I have not discussed (secrets).
  17. Strayer who came forth from Bubastis, I have brought no lawsuits.
  18. Planter (?) who came forth from Heliopolis, I have not disputed at all about property.
  19. Doubly Evil One who came forth from the Busirite Nome, I have not had intercourse with a married woman.
  20. He-who-Sees-what-he-has-brought who cam forth from the House of Min, I have not (wrongly) copulated.
  21. He-who-is-over-the-Great-Ones who came forth from (?), I have not struck terror.
  22. Demolisher who came forth from (?), I have not transgressed.
  23. Proclaimer of Speech who came forth from Weryt, I have not been hot (tempered).
  24. Youth who came forth from the Double Scepter Nome, I have not been neglectful of truthful words.
  25. Dark One. who came forth from darkness, I have not cursed.
  26. He-who-Brings-his-Offerings who comes forth from Asyut, I have not been violent.
  27. Proclaimer of Voice who came forth from Wenis, I have not confounded (truth).
  28. Possessor of Faces who came forth from Nedjefet, I have not been impatient.
  29. Captain who came forth from Weten, I have not discussed.
  30. Possessor of Two Horns who come forth from Asyut, I have not been garrulous about matters.
  31. Nefertum who came forth from Memphis, I have not done wrong.
  32. I have not done evil.
  33. He-who-does-not-(allow)-Surviviors who came forth from Busiris, I have not disputed the King.
  34. He-who-Acts-as-he-Wishes who came forth from Antinaiopolis, I have not waded in water.
  35. T hy who came forth from the Primordial Waters, My voice was not loud.
  36. He-who-Prospers-the-Commom-People who came forth from Asyut, I have not cursed a god.
  37. Uniter of Attributes who came forth from the Cavern, I have not made extollings (?).
  38. Uniter of Good who came forth from the Cavern, I have not harmed the bread-ration of the gods.
  39. Upraised of Head who came forth from the shrine, I have not stolen the Khenef-cakes from the Blessed.
  40. He-who-Brings-his-Portion who came forth from the Hall of the Two Truths, I have not stolen Hefnu- cakes of a youth.
  41. (Nor) have I fettered the god of my town.
  42. He-who-Brightens-the-Land who came forth from Faiyum (?), I have not slain sacred cattle.

from the Papyrus of Ani

One comment on “42 Negative Confessions (The Book of Going Forth By Day)

Leave a Reply

