Hymns for Hekate

The_Sorceress_CGFASorceress” by John William Waterhouse 

One of the things I always do whilst honouring Hekate during my regular devotionals, is the use of hymns – in and with her name.  Hymns can be used to evoke or invoke a specific Divinity in a ritual setting, during magickal work like spellcraft or when wanting to connect to the energies of a particular God (or multitude of Gods) for any other specific purpose. A hymn is a praising, adoring and devotional prayer to a Divinity which can be recited internally, out loud and even sung, written on various mediums and buried, tied to a tree, burned or thrown into a body of water or to the wind.

When I use hymns, I either employ them in the form of evocation or invocation. Evocation is when you summon, call forth or request a Deity in the form of askance or demand to be present. Invocation is when you call on Deity to take possession of you or another object like a statue image of that Deity.  Hymns can be as elaborate and complicated or simple and basic and it all depends on the devotees main goal and objective of the task at hand.  My only advice is that it comes from the heart and that the words truly resonate with you as words have power.  Ensure the hymn covers what you want to achieve and that could mean using a hymn written in ancient times or one which is more modern – the choice is yours.

George_Romney_-_Lady_Hamilton_as_Circe_2Lady Hamilton as Circe by George Romney

I personally like to use The Orphic Hymn of Hekate as I find it connects me to her within seconds of reciting it and I can feel her flames of power coursing through the words.  Here is a translation I use which I find quite beautiful:

The Orphic Hymns – Hymn I: To Hekate

(text: w. Quant Orphei hymni Berlin 1962)

I invoke you, beloved Hekate of the Crossroads and the Three Ways

Saffron-cloaked Goddess of the Heavens, the Underworld and the Sea

Tomb-frequenter, mystery-raving with the souls of the dead

Daughter of Perses, Lover of the Wilderness who exults among the deer

Nightgoing One, Protectress of dogs, Unconquerable Queen

Beast-roarer, Dishevelled One of compelling countenance

Tauropolos, Keyholding Mistress of the whole world

Ruler, Nymph, Mountain-wandering Nurturer of youth.

Maiden, I beg you to be present at these sacred rites

Ever with a gladsome heart and ever gracious to the Oxherd.

 220px-De_Morgan_Medea

I have written several hymns in Hekate’s name, one which I wrote for her can be found here:

https://setjataset.wordpress.com/2014/05/14/devotional-hymn-to-hekate/

I urge you all to give your hand at writing a hymn to Hekate as I have found its one of the most profound offerings you can give this mighty goddess.

 

(C) T. Georgitisis 2013 (first appeared in The Australian Pagan Magazine – Issue 2)

 

 

One comment on “Hymns for Hekate

  1. Pingback: Just because it was said in a book… | Book of Eucalypt

Leave a Reply

