World Tarot Day – 25th May

mythic-tarot

In honour of World Tarot Day my favourite deck of all time has been and will always be the original printing of the Mythic Tarot Deck by Liz Greene and Juliet Sharman-Burke. It was the deck I learned to read with and its the one I resonate with the most due to its imagery and mythology. My love for the Mythic happened quite by chance.  I had used other forms of divination systems like playing cards and coffee cups from an early age but never came across tarot until I was a young teen.

I found this deck at a bookstore when I was shopping for books in the “new age” section as I used to spend any money I had back then on books or music.  Imagine my surprise when I was perusing the new age section in a now defunct chain book sellers only to have the Mythic Tarot pack fall (complete with hardback booklet) and bump me on the head. I picked it up off the floor and glanced  at the image on the front cover showing Demeter as The Empress Card (which ironically turned out to be my personal tarot card).  The more I looked at this image the more I saw the symbolism within it and something inside me just clicked and I found myself needing to know more.  Since that day the Mythic Tarot has fueled my obsession with the tarot.

the-empress-mythic

Being a professional reader I’ve gone through several decks as some clients can be quite rough with the cards and corner, warp or bend them.  I’ve probably gone through 4-5 decks in the last few decades and have never thrown them out instead creating artworks with left over cards from old decks.  I have a pack I am currently using for clients and a last “reserve” pack hardly used given to me by a friend which I save for personal readings.

Suffice to say I am not happy and do not like the New Mythic Tarot due to its “coldness” so its quite disappointing that a deck I have loved for so long is now out of print.  Although it can be pricey to obtain an original pack of the Mythic Tarot I would highly recommend it especially if you are into Ancient Greek mythology and dont resonate with the standard Rider Waite Tarot.

 

6 comments on “World Tarot Day – 25th May

  1. This was the very first deck I ever given! I still have it among my things somewhere. And you’re completely right, the New Mythic just feels wrong. It’s as if the artist had no idea of the meanings before they played with the images on what looks like a tablet…

  2. It was my first deck, too!!! 🙂
    It was always spot on for me! Unfortunately it went with the rest of my stuff in the fire.
    However, Johnny was very kind on my birthday and bought me the Steampunk Tarot….
    They’re pretty cool 🙂

  3. It was the first deck I bought for myself back in the early 90’s, I didn’t know that they had put out a new one – seems a shame to change a well loved format!

  4. Just went on line to check out the “new” Mythic tarot deck and I heartily agree with you – the images are dreadful – if it ain’t broke don’t fix it! Why did they not reprint the original!!? SIGH!

Leave a Reply

