The Land of the Long White Cloud: Stores with Spirit, South Island

12494942_10154618197779762_2395907414597003700_n

Recently got back from a vacation in New Zealand which was quite breathtaking and full of adventure.  Whilst I am still going through the 1,000 photos taken to share some of my adventures, I thought I’d post about some retail places of personal interest I came across in the South (where I spent most of my time):

The Outpost

We actually came across this place when heading to a crystal shop and I was pulled to have a look.  One of the best retail suppliers of quality semi-precious stone jewellery I have ever seen.  All pieces are sourced by the owner and then cut and set by a local jeweller which keeps the prices down and the quality superb.

Hetties

New Zealand’s oldest crystal shop and this was the only new age kind of store I could find in the area (they have a store in Queenstown). They get good quality Jade (Nephrite) and Paua (Shell) in tumbles/pieces as well as traditional and more modern set jewellery but I also found the quality of the other crystals they had were high grade.

Art and Craft Market

Only on saturdays and an absolute must for those who like hand made items direct from the artist themselves.

The jade carvers were especially of interest and I am a fan of Roger Cleghorn’s work as he sources the jade, argillite, bone and paua himself.

Cleghorn

I came across an this great potter John Kalb who digs and processes the clay locally himself when then moulds it and fires it.  It was so nice to see hand thrown pottery in more colours than the standard brown or blue.

Kalb

Lastly I love art especially modern style spray paint art and I came across Gwen Ash who does the most chic and contemporary paintings – the two I purchased resonated a modern Hekate and Sekhmet for me and I just loved the artists enthusiasm about her work.

Sprays and Threads

 

Leave a Reply

