HYMN TO BAST

bast-33972_1280

Dua Bast!

Goddess of Warfare, Goddess of Protection

Ferocious mother against injustice

I apply your shield against isfet

Dua Bast! I pray to you!

 

Mistress of Boubastis, Mistress of Felines

United in heart I venerate you

Beyond the borders of the two lands, your devotee calls to you

Dua Bast! I adore you!

 

Lady of Dance, Lady of joy

I move to your heartbeat, the rhythm of the universe

In ecstatic sway to your celestial music

Dua Bast!  I dance for you!

 

Madam of the Rattle, Madam of the Basket

I make processions with sacred sounds in your favour

And the utterances of your name touches my soul

Dua Bast – I shake the sistra for you!

 

Lady of The Flame, Lady of the House

I raise and weave my voice in supplication

I croon in your light of everlasting sun and moon

Dua Bast – I sing for you!

 

Defender of the Pharoah, Defender of the People

May you slay those who utter atrocities in your name

Your servant waits your intervention

Dua Bast – I call to you!

 

Eye of Ra, Slayer of Apep

I surround myself with your love and banish feelings of detestation

Beloved, in your name will I always make pure offerings of oblation

Dua Bast! I make this sacrifice for you!

 

Keeper of the Aegis, Keeper of the Ointment Jar

Impeccable beauty and grace is your boon

Your imperfect perfection raises my vibration

Dua Bast! I make this commitment to you!

 

Great of Magick, Great of Might

I pour libations in your name and engage in your sacred ceremonies

May you always be by my side as I am your loyal attendee

Dua Bast! I make this vow to you!

T. Georgitsis 2014 ©

Leave a Reply

