Initiation Hymn

egyptian-1822056_1920

This is the hymn I had to write for my first degree back when I was part of the Elphame tradition in the 1990’s.

I came across it recently in my handwritten BOS.

Please excuse the “old English” style language as I was in my early 20’s and was over exposed to that liturgy technique during inner and outer court.  The AHP and HP at the time used and wrote rituals in this tone and truth be told I personally don’t use this type of language and never have.

Interesting to see how much I have changed yet my devotion is still unwavering over the years.

Initiation Hymn

O Great Goddess of all that is,
I call upon you to be here with me now.
Come to me O Great Lady as I invoke you in your many guises.
I call thee forth for guidance as I walk the old path and strive for spiritual growth and knowledge.

To Athtor I call out, Mother Night.
Bring to me respect of all things,
Power within and heighten my hidden senses.

To Bast I call out, Playful Lady.
Bring to me happiness and all that is joyful in one’s life
and help me to live the life to its fullest.

To Hathor I call out, O Beauteous One.
Bring to me love for all things
and the power of self-love.

To Maat I call out, Bearer of Truth.
Bring to me truth, honour, justice and
the power to speak out against untruths.

To Mert I call out, Lover of Silence.
Bring to me the wisdom of silence
and constraint when needed.

To Isis I call out, Mistress of Charms and Enchantments.
Bring to me the determination and dedication
in finding and learning the mysteries.

© T. Georgitsis 1998

Leave a Reply

